Interview: Jodie Tyack

Jodie Tyack trained at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and has appeared in TV shows such as WreckThe Window and Noughts and Crosses. She had a recurring role on Agatha Raisin as junior detective Toni Gilmour and recently wrapped on Odyssey, her first feature film.

Tyack will soon be taking the stage as Dr Denyse Kim in the European premiere of Van Badham’s acclaimed black comedy, Banging Denmark at the Finborough Theatre.

Seen anything lately?
I found Standing at the Sky’s Edge at the National Theatre so unbelievably inspiring. I loved it so much, I saw it three times! The scenes in the production spanned different time periods so clearly, woven with songs that informed the story. It was really moving.

What is one misconception about working on a film set that most people have?
Even though working on a film set is not live like theatre, sometimes you really are up against the clock and don’t have much time to get the take or dialogue can change at the last minute.

Was there a moment in your life/ work that had a profound impact on the way you view or approach acting?
I think when I started taking classes with Dan Zenou, my whole approach changed. I think I used to feel I had to present a packaged performance. Whereas now I think it’s much more exciting to not know what’s going to happen, be present and allow myself to be surprised.

Do you have a specific approach to taking on a new character/ embarking on a new script?
For me I think every job is different.

I like to read the script a lot and always do my lists on what everyone says about my character, what I say about everyone else’s character and what I say about my character as I find that really informative. I like doing a timeline of my character and the arc and then I begin filling the gaps.

Any advice for people who are just starting their acting career in London?
Go for it! Life is so short and in London there are so many things to get involved in. There are brilliant teachers and resources right on your doorstep.

What are you most looking forward to in the next 5 years?
Knowing myself even more. 

Leave a comment